PayPal IPN Class Implementation

Nov 13, 2009 at 2:36 PM

Good morning John. I am pretty new to setting up a Web site with PayPal, and especially utilizing Instant Payment Notification. The IPN feature is actually a little overwhelming because it is so hard to test and analyze what is wrong. I am currently working on a Web application project for school using ASP.Net pages. I have created a small 4-5 page Web site with a registration form where a payment needs to be made. I chose to utilize PayPal as a payment method and I have set up everything on my end to test through the PayPal Sandbox. I have been searching for the past day or two for a solution on how to set up IPN with my site when I came across your download here. While I can read through much of the code provided in your download and understand a good chunk of it, I am still unsure of everything which still needs to be done to fully set up IPN with my site.

1. What do i need to do on the page where the actual payment is being initiated from on my site? Do I need to put more than a simple pay now button?

2. Which page am I submitting to PayPal as the IPN Handler URL? Will this be .../IPNProcess.aspx?

3. Besides the following lines in the IPNProcess.aspx.vb file, are there any other items which need to be changed/altered in order to test IPN in the PayPal Sandbox?

Dim objPP As New PPIPN("ELITE")
        'Dim objPP As New PPIPN("LIVE")
        'Dim objPP As New PPIPN("TEST")

objPP.FromEmail = "email@yourdomain.com"
        'email address your smtp server will accept
        objPP.FromEmailPassword = "yourpassword"
        'password for the email address above
        objPP.SmtpHost = "yourSMTPHost"
        objPP.SmtpPort = "SMTPHostPort"
        objPP.ToEmail = "youremailatPayPal@domain.com"
        'this needs to be your business/email you have registered with PayPal
        objPP.MakeHttpPost()
        objPP.CheckStatus()